Latest news

The latest at Immanuel

Students and teachers sitting at an award ceremony in a church

Student achievement celebrated at annual Prize-Giving Ceremony

Students from Immanuel College have been awarded prizes for Perseverance, Character and Hope during the school’s annual Prize-Giving Ceremony, held at Bradford Cathedral with their families and friends invited to celebrate their achievements.

Over 200 students from Years 7-11 and Post 16 were invited to collect their certificates and prizes from Rt Revd Dr Toby Howard – Bishop of Bradford and Mrs D Sterling, Chair of Governors at Immanuel College, in a ceremony hosted by Revd Stuart Hacking, Chaplain at Immanuel College.

Mr S Pickles, Headteacher of Immanuel College, explained the importance of the awards: “At Immanuel College we value the Christian ethos’ of perseverance, character and hope. These are all characteristics that we nurture in our students and believe are fundamental in developing the exceptionally well-rounded young people who leave us at the end of their time at Immanuel.

“To be able to celebrate the commitment and dedication that our students demonstrate throughout the academic year is just one of the ways we promote our values and it’s wonderful that we get this opportunity to share it with the friends and families of our students.”

The evening also included performances from a number of talented students including Macey Nash, who performed the Billie Eilish hit ‘Halley’s Comet’ and Megan Brown & Heidi Stokes, who sang a moving duet of ‘On My Own’ from Les Miserables.

Lucy Fletcher, a Year 9 student from Bonhoeffer House, received one of the evening’s special awards as she was presented the Sophie Gillies Award; given to a student who has shown creativity in their written work.

Lucy said: “It’s such a nice feeling to receive an award because it makes you feel special and like you’ve done really well. Immanuel College is really welcoming and there is so much on offer.”

The ceremony also saw the Investiture of Immanuel College’s new Head Boy and Girl, Year 12’s James Spencer and Misha Chand, who have taken over the roles from Michael Coe and Emma Cowley, who will remain as Student Ambassadors at the school during Year 13.

Special awards were also presented in a number of categories, including;

  • The May Rollinson Award – Chloe Brown, Isabelle Oakman and Olivia Riley
  • The Richard Clarke Award – William Nicholson
  • The Sophie Gillies Award – Lucy Fletcher
  • The SORTED Prize – Joe Hudson and Roan Barrett-Shaw
Skip to content